Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Worship Pre-fessional January 11, 2008

Filed under: Worship Confessionals — 6kids1me @ 1:16 am

Worship team practice was tonight.  We had 12 people in attendance for our LIFE Group (that was cool!).  It was a really good lesson.  Certainly not because I’m a great teacher, but because everybody contributed.  There were some really insightful things said and some really touching things as well.  I learn so much from everyone in our LIFE Group.

Now, because yesterday’s entry was so intense with emotion, I thought I’d lighten things up a bit.  This picture is so funny!

On to the pre-fessional……

Practice ran long tonight.  I don’t like when it takes too long to accomplish our goal.  But I am glad that we stuck it out.  We worked out some transitions between songs and transposed some music (that can take a while) along with some other things.  The end result was worth the time it took. 

I won’t tell all the songs we’ll be singing Sunday, but I will say this….we’re doing that new song again.  Remember the one from last Sunday?  “No One Like You” is the name of it.  FUN!  More happy worship!

A few notes about our team:

Dedicated.  I am so thankful for such dedicated teammates.  Some of these people worked all day (poor Bryant worked even into the night), they have families, school, obligations, stress, car troubles, and worries like everybody else.  Yet they commit hours each week to prepare for Sunday service.  That is serious dedication.

Flexible.  I don’t know that I’ve ever met a more flexible team than we have.  Last minute changes at practice, transposing, learning new material, stretching vocal range, willingness to try something new.  You name it, they’ve done it.  Every single one of them.  It’s rare today to see such flexibility, especially among such busy people.  I’m super impressed with all of them.

Talented.  Anybody who has heard this team play and sing knows how talented they are.  But in practices that really shines through.  Some of the ideas they come up with are soooooo gooooood!    And the way they “get it” is great!  I can say, “this is what I’m thinking here” and they just immediately produce that sound.  If you’re not a musician, that probably makes no sense.  But it’s good.

I don’t like that our practice ran so late tonight and am thinking of things we can do to improve on that.  One is to be better prepared in advance.  Kudos to Rachel for already having each song available in multiple keys so we didn’t have to spend a lot of time on that.  Only a couple of things ended up being transposed.  That helped our time a lot.  I know that each of us arrived tired and somewhat stressed over stuff from our day.  That contributed to our attention span (like musicians & singers have much of an attention span anyway).  We all had trouble staying focused tonight.   There has to be a way to keep from running so late though.  I’m going to keep thinking on that.

I’m getting tired and unable to think straight.  So I’m headed off to bed.  One final thought before I go….a thank you.  Lots of people are reading this blog and some have commented or called to tell me their opinion of it.  I just want to thank you for that.  It has encouraged me and let me know that I am doing the right thing with this blog.  It’s not easy to admit weaknesses (which I seem to do regularly on here already), but I want to be completely transparent.  Y’all have made it clear that it’s important and needed.  So thank you for your loving encouragement.  Goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

