Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Glorious! January 24, 2008

Filed under: Thoughts on Worship — 6kids1me @ 12:26 am

Yeah I know that three posts in one day is a bit much, but I’m so excited right now that I just have to share!

I’ve just been reading in Isaiah ch.6 about the vision that God gave to Isaiah.  I’ve read this tons of times, but have never been as awe-struck as I am right now.  First of all, how cool that God allowed Isaiah to even see Him in the first place?!?!!  Second, the description is just amazing.  Here’s an excerpt:

 1 In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. 2 Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. 3 And they were calling to one another:
       “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty;
       the whole earth is full of his glory.”

 4 At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

WOW!!!!!!  Can you just imagine it?  Angels covering their feet and faces while flying around the throne crying with powerful voices, “Holy Holy Holy is the Lord!”  And the Center of their worship, the Object of their praise, the One they declare as King……seated on the throne….so glorious that the whole earth is “filled with His glory!” 

I know, I know.  You’ve heard it before.  So have I.  But it just boggles my mind that He is THAT glorious!  I am struck anew with the awesomeness of His majesty and so humbled that He delights in my praise as well.  Here He is, surrounded by beautiful angels who sing in notes we haven’t even imagined, and He chooses to inhabit our praises.  WOW!

When you have a minute, grab your Bible and read Isaiah’s response to seeing God seated on the throne.  My response is often the same when in His presence, and I haven’t even physically seen Him.  Can you imagine it?!?!  What do you think your response would be?

 

Leave a Reply

