Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Worship Pre-fessional February 22, 2008

Filed under: Worship Confessionals — 6kids1me @ 1:31 am

Since we’re not actually leading worship this week, I guess this isn’t really a pre-fessional, but I still want to tell you about our practice tonight.  It was FANTASTIC! 

First we had auditions for the ensemble choir.  The weather was horrible (tornado warnings, rain, hail, etc), so the turn-out wasn’t as great as I had expected.  However, those that came made me smile.  They are all passionate about worship and that is exactly what I was hoping for.  For those who couldn’t make it, don’t think your chance has passed.  I understand that weather can keep people home…it was bad tonight.  Come see me Sunday morning and we’ll arrange a time to get together.  Cary even made some cd’s for y’all to learn some of the songs we regularly do.  FUN!

After auditions, we jammed!  We had Raymond on keyboard, Bryant on acoustic & electric guitar, Josh on drums & Zack on bass.  Speedy, Mattie, Shalyian, Jennifer & myself were on vocals.  The Media Team had Kevin, Cary & Mike.  They also had a new guy join us who we’re all looking forward to working with.  His name is Grant (gee, I hope I got that right) and he’s super nice.

The songs we focused on are:

Sing to the King

Revelation Song

Let it Rise

Nothing But the Blood

It was sooooo much fun to relax and just jam.  And we all walked away feeling more confident about the songs.  It was so good, in fact, that we’re going to start doing that once a month.  Woohoo!  We focused a lot on the music tonight and didn’t spend as much time on vocals as I would have liked.  We have time restrictions while we’re in the hotel.  It’s going to be soooo nice once we’re in our permanent building.  No restrictions.  No set up/tear down.  Just jam.

Y’all please take a moment today to pray for Jennifer.  She’s got one more month left in the pregnancy and it’s starting to get hard.  Soon she will step down from the team.  She’ll be back after the baby is born, but we’re going to miss her.  😦  Anyway, if y’all could pray for her during this last month of her pregnancy, I know she would greatly appreciate it.

I’m really excited about what’s happening with our team.  I can see us meshing together better all the time.  The longer we play together, the better we’ll be and it’s fun to watch that happening.  And as more musicians and vocalists join the team, it’s just going to get better and better.  Seeing the way God is working in our team is amazing.  He is blessing us and it’s a joy to be a part of that.

And here’s my final thought for the night…..sing your heart out.  Turn off the computer, the tv, the radio, whatever is distracting you, and sing to the Lord.  Sing to Him about how beautiful He is.  Sing about how you love Him.  Sing about how He loves you.  Don’t worry about how you sound.  Just worship Him.  I guarantee you’ll walk away refreshed and closer to Him.  🙂

 

One Response to “Worship Pre-fessional”

  1. Wow!!! Thanks for including Let It Rise in your rehearsal. I pray that God blesses you as you worship Him!!!

    Holland


Leave a Reply

