Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Before Anything Was….HE IS March 22, 2008

Filed under: Thoughts on Worship,worship — 6kids1me @ 12:29 am

There are so many things on my mind tonight that I hardly know where to begin.  I’ve spent a good part of the day in worship today and the Lord always speaks to me most clearly when I’m exhausted from worship and have to be quiet.  I won’t go into all the things He’s been speaking into my life, but I do want to share one thing with you.

Today, I was overwhelmed with an awareness of Who He is.  Let me clarify a bit.  I’m not talking about how He is, or what He’s done for me, or anything like that.  I’m talking about WHO HE IS.  I recently heard Jeff Deyo say in a lesson he gave that we humans like to classify and categorize things.  He said he (and I can identify with this) kind of thought that the categories went from the one cell amoeba, to the caterpiller, to the monkey, to the human, to the angel, to God.  **keep in mind that I’m paraphrasing here**  He went on to say that the truth is that God is soooooo far above anything we can comprehend & that really we are in the category of the caterpillar compared to God.  That made sense to me.

See, God is not One to be categorized.  Like He told Moses, “I AM THAT I AM.”  Think about that for a minute.  HE IS.  Period.   There was no beginning to Him.  There is no end.  HE IS.  There is nothing that could even come close to comparing to Who He is.  HE IS.  Everything else in all creation had a beginning.  We can spend all day debating just what that beginning was, but none debate that there was actually a beginning.  God has no beginning.  HE IS. 

Another thing that astounds me is that He does not change.  He is exactly the same today as He was when He parted the Red Sea.  Numbers 23:19 says “God is not a man, that He should lie, nor a son of man that He should change His mind.  Does He speak and then not act?  Does He promise and not fulfill?”  1 Samuel 15:29 says “He who is the glory of Isreal does not lie or change His mind;  for He is not a man, that He should change His mind.”  These scriptures speak volumes to me.  Truly, when has He ever changed?! 

And here’s one I really didn’t understand for a long time, but now finally have some small understanding of ….. He is holy.  Click this link to see how different dictionaries define the word “holy”….. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/holy .  The reason I only have some small understanding of this, I think, is because my mind has only limited capacity to understand holiness.  We often refer to someone as a holy man, or to something as a holy object.  But the Lord is soooo much more than that.  He IS holiness.  He is what holy is.  See, I told you, I can barely comprehend it, let alone describe it.  Which brings me to my next point.

He is so far beyond anything we could ever begin to understand or explain.  He is so amazing, so awesome.  He is Almighty God, my redeemer, my hope, my salvation, my life, my lord, my safe place, my strength, my immovable rock.  He IS love.  He is worthy of all praise, all honor.  He is everything.  HE IS.

I am still in absolute awe of Him.  I am overwhelmed that He would want to have a personal relationship with me.  If I hadn’t experienced Him for myself, I never could have believed it.  But He reaches out to me, me?! and covers me in His love.  It’s overwhelming.

There’s so much more I want to share with y’all, but I’ll stop for today.  Be sure to check back as the weekend and next week progress.  I’ve got a testimony to share with y’all, some more thoughts on worship and some specific thoughts on Christ Jesus.  I’m really looking forward to that.  🙂 

 

One Response to “Before Anything Was….HE IS”

  1. […] Great post from Created to Praise: “Before anything was…HE IS!“ […]


Leave a Reply

