Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

He is the Way….the ONLY Way April 1, 2008

Filed under: Church Life,Random Stuff,Thoughts on Worship,worship — 6kids1me @ 2:37 pm

I’m not a very controversial person.  I never have been.  I am opinionated, but choose to keep most of my opinions to myself.  I don’t like arguing and that’s usually all that happens when people voice their opinions.  I prefer to state facts.  In my life thus far, I have learned that the ONLY place to find absolute truth is in the Word of God.  I firmly believe this.  So when I have questions about something, I apply the “biblical litmus test.”  If it is in line with the teachings of Scripture, then it just might be okay.  But if it is in direct opposition to Scripture, then I know with certainty that it cannot be trusted.

That brings me to an issue I want to discuss.  I’ll admit I don’t know everyting.  I further admit that I am no theologean and cannot debate this issue as well as some others.  However, I still choose to address it.  So here goes…..

I was browsing YouTube’s featured videos this morning and came across a video of Oprah saying that Jesus couldn’t be the only way to God. 

Immediately I was reminded (see….this is why He tells us to hide His Word in our hearts!) of John 14:6 where Jesus said, “I am the way the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through Me.”  Now Oprah made a pretty bold claim when she said that He wasn’t the only way to get to “whatever you call God.”  But Jesus’ claim was waaaaay more bold.  He made the claim that HE WAS THE WAY and that there was NO other way.

Now I’m not Oprah bashing, I think, when I say that she doesn’t seem to have a real clear grasp on what Christianity is.  She is, after all, claiming to be a Christian even when making statements like this.  If He’s not the only way, then why is she following Him?  That just doesn’t make sense to me.  But I was very encouraged by the two women in the audience who were standing firm in their faith and speaking out, even against Oprah.  And I was further encouraged by the other audience members applause of these two women.  Thank God for people who are willing to stand firm.

And then I watched another video of her with Eckhart Tolle (author of her bookclub choice A New Earth).  I’m not going to say much about that book other than “ummmmmm…..yeah, this guy is really leading people astray with words that speak directly against scripture by twisting it.”  But rather, I’d like to focus on a comment that Oprah made.  In the video clip, a viewer asked her how she reconciled the spiritual teachings of this book with her claim of Christianity.  Oprah’s response almost made me cry, it was so sad.  She responded (and I’m paraphrasing here) that she sat in church one Sunday and heard the preacher say that God was a jealous God.  So she starting thinking that if God is omnipresent and omnipotent, why is He jealous of me?  She says that was when she “opened her mind” to search for more than just doctrine.

Well, where to begin?  First, I’ll address the issue of doctrine.  Regardless of what Oprah thinks, doctrine is actually a good thing.  Go here http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/doctrine to see the definition of doctrine.  2Timothy 3:16 says that “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.”  So we now know what doctrine is and that the Bible is what we should use as our doctrine.  And since the Bible was given to us by God, it would seem that using His doctrine to see how we should live our lives (and yes, even think), would be what He wants us to do.

Now I will go a bit further to say that in one regard, Oprah was right.  We should seek more that JUST doctrine when seeking God….because He seeks more from us.  I just think she missed the mark on what we should be seeking.  We should seek RELATIONSHIP.  What He wants is relationship with us.  I’m not talking about mushy jr. high boyfriend/girlfriend relationship.  I’m talking about real relationship….the kind where you spend time together, talk together, understand one another, share joys and heartaches & everyday moments.  Real relationship.

Now, is God jealous of Oprah?  Certainly not in the sense that she apprently thinks the preacher meant.  No, God is jealous FOR her heart….all our hearts.  He doesn’t want us to bash our heads against brick walls following false doctrines.  He loves us SO MUCH and wants us to find the peace and joy that only He can offer.  He knows the confusion and misery that false doctrines provide and He wants to keep us from them.  He’s not jealous OF us, rather He’s jealous FOR us.  And He will not share us with false gods.  Period.

I realize that millions of Americans love Oprah.  I know that some will say that I am wrong and should not speak out against her.  But I think we should all consider the sway Oprah has over the public.  Many, many people take her word as the gospel truth.  They believe her because they feel they can trust her.  After all, anyone who does as many good things as Oprah does MUST be a Christian, right?  Wrong!  And when someone with as much public influence as Oprah has comes out on national tv and says that Jesus Christ is not the only way to God, Christians should take notice.

I believe that Christians should not only take notice in such instances, but should stand up and say “This is wrong because it goes against the teachings (doctrine) of the the Word of God.”  Like I said, I’m not one for controversy, but this issue is important and needs to be addressed.

Sadly, Oprah seems to fit the profile of who Timothy was talking about when he said, “3For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. 4They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.”  That’s 2Timothy 3-4. 

The books that Oprah promotes and the things she has said about her Christianity just don’t stand up to the biblical litmus test.  It’s very sad to see that Oprah has got it all so wrong.  It’s even more heartbreaking to see how many she is leading astray.  So sad.

I should add that this is all written from the viewpoint of a Christian who believes that the Bible is given to us by God and it is without error.  Click here http://www.christiananswers.net/q-eden/edn-t003.html to learn more about the inerrancy of the Bible.  There are numerous websites out there discussing the inerrancy of the Bible.  This is just one.  Thanks, Tim, for the reminder to add this!

 

10 Responses to “He is the Way….the ONLY Way”

  1. drkshadow17 Says:

    i don’t watch Opera.
    Come to http://www.drkshadow17.wordpress.com

  2. createdtopraise Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of opera either….I like music, but opera’s really not my style.

  3. zoebios121 Says:

    Bravo for the post and those who stood up to heretical statement made by Oprah. (I mean heretical strictly as clearly contrary to what the canon text, Bible, says about the exclusivity of the gospel).

    Oprah’s mistake is also that of context as well. The place where it’s stated that God is “jealous” is when God is laying down the 10 commandments saying (paraphrased) “You shall have no other gods before me for I am a jeleous God.”

    What this is NOT saying: that there exists other “gods” in the sense that Oprah was saying, INSTEAD what is IS saying that that when we value something more than The Almighty, we have made it our “god” and God, being “jealous,” will not stand for that.

    “opening your mind” is also a gross misunderstanding and sloppy language. Saying this implies that true revelation comes from yourself and that you have the ability to improve yourself, to save yourself from your own depraved thinking. This is really contradictory on closer examination. In fact, by doing this, you are making yourself your own god, saying that you can make it on your own living things your own way, when you want it using your own “truth.” Very postmodern-feeling, isn’t it?

    Finally, on a more literary level, consider your audience. You may not want to use scripture for support of defining mundane terms such as doctrine because the underlying assumption is that that Scripture is God breathed and divine. But from the point of view from a non-christian, the assumption that the Bible is true because the Bible says that itself is true is a very poor proof of its validity and thus all other claims it makes. You should at least put a footnote linking to something addrressing the question of the irrerancy of Scripture.

    All in all, an edifying post
    Soli Deo Gloria!

    -Tim

  4. createdtopraise Says:

    Thank you for your comments, Tim! I appreciate your advice on adding a link to something regarding the inerrancy of the Bible. I had actually planned to do that and then totally forgot to add it. I’ll go back later tonight and edit to add that. Thanks for the reminder!!!

  5. […] by zoebios121 on April 1, 2008 This is a post worth reading about the exclusivity of the Gospel. “you cannot serve two masters” you cannot claim to believe what the gospel says (which […]

  6. prolepticlife Says:

    Good post, thanks for the video clips.

    Oprah, I believe, makes the mistake of not thinking very deeply about ideas like the jealousy of God. She seems to jump to the conclusion that God’s jealousy would be of the same kind as ours. I have seen similar comments regarding the Bible’s statements about God’s wrath and anger.

  7. Kristian Says:

    Always remember:
    Jude 1:3 Beloved, when I gave all diligence to write unto you of the common salvation, it was needful for me to write unto you, and exhort [you] that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints.

    Oprah is a well known false teacher that Satan has sent out to lead people astray. Her popularity attests to that, you don’t rise to stardom in this world and gain that kind of popularity unless you have the backing of the god of this world (Satan), not to mention all the garbage that is promoted on her show, it’s a dead give away.
    False teachers always give away excellent clues about their true identity. But check their claims with the Bible and you find them out straight away.

  8. Kristian Says:

    John 15:19 If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.

    Oprah is of the world therefore the world loves her… if she were not they would hate her guts.

    So simple a test.

  9. cbgrace Says:

    I think maybe Oprah has started to believe her own press. She believes it is by her own power that she is successful…It’s a shame.

  10. Mark Says:

    I am grateful for people like you who provide a forum to dispute what is now becoming so increasingly prolific in our culture — and that is, deceptive tenets disguised as divine truths. I have not read Tolle’s book, and the only reason I ever would is if I felt I needed to be aware of his “teachings” in order to refute them from scripture. As a Christian, I know (from scripture) that false teachers are to be guarded against in no uncertain terms. Thanks for not being silent, but for stating what I truly believe. In John 14:6, it is plain and clear that Jesus said He is “the way” and NO ONE comes to the Father, except through Him.


Leave a Reply

