Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Guilty April 15, 2008

Do you listen to Christian radio?  I do.  It’s not the only genre of music I listen to, but it’s the majority.  The problem I have with Christian radio is that, like most pop stations, it will play a song into the ground.  You get a good song, like “Open the Eyes of My Heart,” and people connect with it.  Then the song is played 500 times in a one month period & people start to get aggrevated with it.  So songs that we really liked before, we’re just sick of now.

But here’s the kicker….

When one of those over-played songs come on the radio, I roll my eyes and turn it off.  Then I start to feel guilty.  I start thinking, “Hey, the message is still good.  It still says what my heart says.”  So I turn it back on.  Then I remember why I turned it off in the first place.  No matter how good the message is, I’m still sick of the song. 

And that’s okay.  You know, when David was playing the harp for King Saul, I bet he didn’t play the same song over and over again.  And if he did, maybe that played a small part in why Saul decided to kill him.  I’m just saying, is all.

 

5 Responses to “Guilty”

  1. zoebios121 Says:

    Thought provoking post

    One nitpick
    Saul wanting to kill David (in a small part) for playing the same song over? unlikely. David was known to be very skilled with the harp and David was able to drive away evil spirits from Saul which implies both an earthly and a spiritual aspect to his musical gift.

    I’m not sure accusing David of overusing a single song is reasonable.
    I mean, David wrote his own psalms[1] which were the equivalent to our “worship” songs [2]. It’s like saying that Chris Tomlin or David Crowder or Hillsong (yes, i know, there are different Hillsongs) always plays the same thing.

    [1]
    That’s not to say that he didn’t write songs as well. Psalms and songs are related, just not the same thing.

    [2]
    I prefer calling them “singspiration” as to not limit worship to just singing

  2. angelbearoh Says:

    I don’t listen to CC that much anymore, especially when I work. I work in telephone customer support, which means I want music I can ignore in favor of listening to my customers. Usually smooth jazz and classical fills the bill. But that smooth jazz station also plays songs into the ground.

  3. createdtopraise Says:

    That’s why I should never ever try to be funny. That last part was totally tongue in cheek.

  4. Judi Free.com Says:

    HA! I got it. My mom used to say, some people are so spirit minded that they are no earthly good. We can still have a sense of humor people!

  5. ronpai Says:

    I was laughing at the last part. I thought it was hilarious. Sometimes I think my church congregation has some hardcore stoning ready for me when I lead with some of the songs that I do over and over. I just fall in love with them and the words thats all.


Leave a Reply

