Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Stretching April 18, 2008

Filed under: Church Life,creativity,ministry,Worship Leader — 6kids1me @ 5:35 am

Here’s my entry for this week’s Creative Chaos.

For those who don’t already know, Heart of Worship is a brand spankin’ new church.  We’ve tripled in size in the last few months and now we’re growing even faster.  God is shaking things up in our corner of the world and we’re all standing back in amazement, saying “WOW!”

During this time, I have been stretched in ways I never expected.  Being a new church, we’ve had to focus on practical things (church structure, buying a building, etc) and that’s been difficult for me.  My brain just doesn’t operate on that level.  But now that all those things are firmly in place, we’re getting to venture into creative persuits.  Ah, now I’m really being stretched.

One new thing we’re going to start doing at HOW is making our own videos.  This is a great way to custom tailor things to meet our specific needs.  But it’s our first time doing it, so I’m a bit nervous.  Lighting, video, editing….these are all new to me.  But I’m excited about the learning process and looking forward to the hands on stuff.

So if anyone’s got any tips on successful video creating & editing, I would really appreciate the input.  What’s worked for you?  What didn’t work?  What made you say, “Wow that was awesome!” or “Yeah, I’ll never do that again.”?

 

One Response to “Stretching”

  1. Hey,
    I’d encourage you to reach out for some tips and insights from some of the tech mods over at TheWorshipCommunity.Com – in the “Technologies for Worship” section, Travis, Chris, Russ, Jordan, and several others have some great ideas and content w/ making their videos …. and have been really helpful to a lot of folks!

    Look forward to seeing some of your work!
    Fred


Leave a Reply

