Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Uncomfortable Worship April 20, 2008

Filed under: creativity,ministry,Thoughts on Worship,worship,Worship Leader — 6kids1me @ 10:50 pm

I’ve been thinking lately about what “sacrifice of praise” means.  I may be dead wrong on these points, but here are a few of my thoughts on this. 

1.  When my brother was killed in a car wreck last year, everyone expected me to take some time off the worship team.  My heart was broken.  I had a hard time even thinking straight, so how could I help lead worship?  But deep in my spirit, I knew that I still needed to offer my worship.  Yes, I know that worship is more than music.  But when you’re heart is so heavy that there’s no song left, what do you do?  I sang anyway.  Regardless of my circumstances, He is still worthy of worship.  It wasn’t easy.  It was a sacrifice.  And He gave me more comfort during that time of worship than I had ever known before.

2.  Music is what’s easiest for me.  I am a singer.  It’s a major part of who I am.  And when I sing to Him, I really am giving Him all of my heart.  But is that a “sacrifice of praise?”  I’m not so sure.  Since it’s so easy for me, where’s the sacrifice?  Am I really offering Him what’s precious to me?  In a way, yes.  Music is precious to me.  But is it a sacrifice?

So that’s what I’ve been thinking about lately.  I want to do more than what’s easy for me.  I want to offer more.  I have nothing that’s of any use to Him.  But I know that He wants something more than “easy” from me.  It’s time to get uncomfortable.  It’s time to step out of my easy offerings and step into real sacrifice.  Now how do I do that?  Well, I’m not really sure.  Gotta think about that.  But I’m willing to bet that since I’m saying this, He’ll show me something right away.  He’s good like that.  lol

So what’s your comfort zone in worship?  What comes easy for you?  And what is something you can offer that is a “sacrifice of praise?”

 

2 Responses to “Uncomfortable Worship”

  1. Judi Free.com Says:

    Awesome post! My husband and I did the same thing when we had a miscarriage. We got up there and poured our hearts out.

    OH YEAH…your blog about David creating new music was the inspiration for my latest post.

  2. createdtopraise Says:

    Well that’s just cool! Thanks, Judi! And by the way, I love your blog.


Leave a Reply

