Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Whining Over Lost Spagetti O’s April 21, 2008

Filed under: Personal Life — 6kids1me @ 9:14 pm

This is my daughter, Kyra…..

Isn’t she pretty?  She’s also very smart & very compassionate.  She really has a heart for people in need.  Her heart is sooooooooo big, in fact, that it leaves little room for her stomach. 

That must be the case since she gave all of our food away.  Okay, not all of it, but a whole lot.  I went into the pantry tonight to get some tuna fish and discovered that all of our canned food was missing.  She had given it to a canned food drive.  Isn’t that sweet? 

I’m not talking about a few cans of evaporated milk and a bag of beans.  Oh no.  That would have been to easy.  No, I’m talking about every single can in my house. 

That may not seem like much to some of you, so allow me to put this into perspective.  There are two adults, two teenagers, two elementary age and two toddler people in this house.  That makes for a grand total of eight mouths to feed.  Eight.  Next to my house payment, food is my biggest expense.  I spend between $650 and $800 a month on groceries (depending on how many bags of beans we eat).  And I had just bought a two week grocery bill. 

Some poor hungry soul out there will be getting the good stuff this time.  They’ll not only get Spagetti O’s, but they’ll get meatballs too!  They’ll get the industrial sized cans of corn and green beans that I am required to buy for my size family.  They’ll get the canned chicken ($3.50 a can….but a real time saver) that was going to be my lunch later this week.  They’ll get all the good stuff.  It’s back to beans for us. 

I know I should be happy for that poor hungry soul.  I know I should be happy that my daughter has such a compassionate heart.  I’ll hopefully feel that way tomorrow.  Right now, I just want my Spagetti O’s with Meatballs back.

 

Leave a Reply

