Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Beautiful Interpretation May 22, 2008

Filed under: Church Life,creativity,ministry,Worship Leader — 6kids1me @ 8:26 am

CC Banner

Here is my entry for Creative Chaos over at Carlos’ blog.

Imagine you are deaf. Now imagine that the first sound you ever hear is the Lord, Creator of all things, saying “Depart from me. I did not know you.”

For Amy Ballard, that thought is what drives her commitment as sign language interpreter. Every week at Heart of Worship, during the 11:00 service, Amy is on the platform at HOW, interpreting the music service. Soon, she will be interpreting the message as well. So if you are hearing impaired and looking for a church in Central Louisiana, we invite you to visit us at HOW!

Amy is also planning to offer a sign language class at HOW, starting very soon. This is an invaluable service that will touch many lives. I will absolutely attend that class! I cannot sign and this limits my opportunities to make new friends. And y’all know how much I love to meet new people! 🙂

One thing that has surprised me is how beautiful sign language is. I was excited about offering this ministry at HOW, but never expected it to be a creative element that would add so much to the music. This week, when we sang “How He Loves,” I was astounded by how beautiful the sign interpretation was. Just beautiful!

I am convinced that this ministry is going to reach people that we couldn’t reach before. For the deaf community in CenLa, they are very limited in their options on where to attend church services. To my knowlege, there are no other churches in Pineville that have this ministry. So if you know anyone who is hearing impaired, please invite them to HOW.

Also, if you sign and want to join us in this ministry, please let me know! My contact information is on the back of every church bulletin (Worship Leader, Becky Adams), or you can leave a comment here and I’ll get in touch with you.

 

4 Responses to “Beautiful Interpretation”

  1. jason Says:

    great idea!

  2. […] Minister Gordon Brown’s grilling by senior MPs on the Commons liaison committee. (139 clicks) Beautiful InterpretationHere is my entry for Creative Chaos over at Carlos’ blog. Imagine you are … Grassroots Alley Warriors Campaign dinner ingoing AustinAdversive strikingly hallway rally round […]

  3. […] Minister Gordon Brown’s grilling by senior MPs on the Commons liaison committee. (139 clicks) Beautiful InterpretationHere is my entry for Creative Chaos over at Carlos’ blog. Imagine you are … free nichole hiltz nudefree nichole hiltz nude Would be convenient. A little sheepish free nichole […]

  4. Terrorise Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Terrorise.


Leave a Reply

