Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Burned Hand June 10, 2009

Filed under: frugal — 6kids1me @ 2:06 pm
Tags:

In case I haven’t already mentioned this…yes, I am a dork. Surely I’ve provided enough evidence of that in blog postings here. However, for those who still doubt, I will provide a new example of my extreme dorkiness.

I burned my hand. I’d like to say I burned it while saving a small child from certain death in a burning house, or something heroic like that. But no. It was just a stupid mistake. I was baking.

Remember I said I wanted to be more frugal? Well I went to Sam’s and bought 25lbs of flour, 20lbs of sugar, more vanilla than I’ll probably use in a lifetime and various other baking goodies. I wasn’t feeling very frugal while I was at the checkout counter paying the big bucks for these large quantities, but reminding myself that it was paying off in the LONG RUN helped ease the pain in the pocketbook.

I found a website with some fantastic recipies for bread here (tons of good stuff on that site) and very excitedly set about learning to make bread. It takes approx. 1 1/4 loaves of bread to make sandwiches for my family at 99cents a loaf from the bread store. If I can bake that myself at less than 25 cents a loaf, then I’m accomplishing a grand thing. Plus, home-baked bread just plain tastes better. It’s probably better for you too, now that I think of it.

So I made several quick and easy dinner rolls, muffins and desserts in no time flat. I was so proud of me! And the family was increasing the height of my pedestal. Yay! I had achieved mom greatness! I suppose I got a little ahead of myself. They do say that pride comes before the fall.

I got a bit ambitious and decided to make a bread that took more than 30 minutes from start to finish. So I found a recipe, mixed my batter and let my bread rise. I babied that bread dough for two solid days. Adding ingredients, kneading and more exactly when the recipe said I was supposed to. I was so proud! This bread was gonna be goooooood. Finally it was time to bake it.

So I preheated the oven & baking dish to 400 degrees, exactly as the recipe called for. I lifted the towel from the dough expectantly and savored the sight and smell of what was surely the most perfect dough ever created by human hands. I opened the oven and, using a pot holder, pulled the tray outward so that the baking dish could be easily accessed. Then I tipped the bowl holding that beautiful dough over into the baking dish. I realized the dough was going to miss the baking dish by about two inches, so I quickly grabbed the baking dish…

WWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’d like to say that it was instinct that made me grab that bowl. Sadly, it was not. There actually was a 1/2 second thought process that went into it. “Oh the dough is gonna miss the dish. I’ll just grab it and…” Yeah.

Ran to computer and w/ one hand typed in “burn treatment”, clicked first site and read “immediately put under running water.” Ran back to kitchen and put my hand under running water. No relief after several minutes. Ran back to computer and read next line on webpage…. “if burn is to your face or hands, you should go to the hospital immediately.” Ummmmmmmm Why was that the SECOND line on the page?!?!?! Seriously. Shouldn’t that have been the FIRST thing I saw?!

Okay so I call my mom, incoherently wail something about needing to go to the hospital (poor mom), run to back of house screaming “Rodney, wake up! Burned hand. Hospital. Back to sink!” (poor Rodney) then run back to the running water. And did I mention that all this happened around midnight? Not a pleasant way for Rodney or my mom to have to wake up.

I have never known pain like that. I’ve given birth (more than once), had kidney stones and more. Yet this pain was somehow much more intense and hopeless than anything I’d ever experienced. I moaned, groaned, wailed and outright sobbed like a baby…and I honestly didn’t care who saw. In the emergency room, I saw head wounds, chest wounds and someone who looked like they were missing part of their foot. Instead of being moved to tears with deep concern, as I normally would be, I couldn’t stop praying “Lord, make it stop. I can’t bear this pain.”

So they gave me a tetanus shot, some really good cream and some Loretab. Good stuff, that Loretab. Then they sent me home to enjoy the Loretab. Personally, I don’t like pain pills. They make me groggy and itchy. But I was so grateful for these pills.

It’s been a week and the pain has subsided. Now I have something weird going on with my fingers. They are in a constant state of “uncomfortable” which is fine. I can deal with that. The fire beneath the skin isn’t as intense as it was once. Now it’s only burning coals. I’m using that hand again, but when I use it too much the pain becomes significant again (but thankfully not even close to the pain of that first night). But there’s a weirdness that I can’t really explain well. The top layer of the pads of my fingers have no feeling. I can touch them and know they are there, but I don’t feel anything on that top layer. However, the uncomfortable layer beneath is very very present. I’m hoping there was no permanent nerve damage done.

Okay so here’s what I’ve learned….

1. The reason burns to the fingers hurt worse than most other burns is because there are tons and tons of capillaries in the fingers. Each of those capillaries is surrounded by many nerves. God made it this way for a good reason, I’m sure, but it sure hurts when you mess up His system.

2. The only thing that hurts worse than a burn on the hands is a burn on the face. I hope to never learn that by experience. I’ll take their word for it.

3. 400 degrees hurts.

4. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. My hand is healing itself. The Creator impresses once again.

5. Potholders and oven mitts RAWK!

On a side note, this post took a long, long time to write. It took a few days of stopping and starting. It was also done with one hand. 🙂 So if you read all the way to here, thank you.

One final note: I am so very very very grateful for my Creator Who made my body to heal itself and gave me a husband who jumped in to help without question. He did dishes, cooked meals, took care of all the kids’ needs…everything. Rodney, I thank God for you every day. Once again, you’ve given me yet another reason to be thankful for you.

 

2 Responses to “Burned Hand”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Hi, Becky!
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. This is quite a journey isn’t it? I will be praying there is no permanent damage!

    I bake my own bread and it is definitely cheaper than buying – and better tasting too 🙂 I’m going to try baking bread in my solar oven sometime during the next couple weeks. I think it will be neat if it turns out. Imagine, baking bread using no electricity or gas.

  2. Pamela Says:

    Hi i just burn my hand and this works for me try running cold water on your hand then putting your in a bag of flour and let the flour stay on your hand until the pain go away . It really works ! From pamela in new york


Leave a Reply

