Created to Praise

Just me being me the way He made me

Provision in Abundance June 14, 2009

Filed under: frugal,worship — 6kids1me @ 1:31 pm
Tags:

I’ve often heard people say “God helps those who help themselves.” I’ve been thinking hard on that lately. While I’ve never seen that exact phrase in the Bible, I’ve certainly seen the evidence of it. For instance, the Lord will provide you with food, but He does expect you to put some effort into the growing of that food (or the job that gives the money that buys the food). He will provide you with clothing, but it’s not going to magically fall from the sky (ok….He could do that if He wanted, but how often have you heard of it happening?).

So my point here is this…..

The Lord WILL provide. In fact, He already has. He’s given me all the tools I need to take in His abundance. He’s given me fertile soil in the back yard for planting and the miracle of seeds that grow fruit and reproduce themselves. He’s freely given me plenty of sunshine and rain to feed & grow those seeds. He’s given me a thinking mind, able to learn and retain new skills. He’s given me an able body AND a family unit to share the labor. Oh there’s that word….labor.

Yep, He has given me everything I need…..and then told me to USE those things to harvest the provision He has provided. I don’t have to worry about going without. The only thing that can keep me hungry…is me.

Okay let’s assume for a moment that there is no grocery store. Unthinkable, I know right? But for the sake of argument, let’s do it anyway. Now, there’s no grocery store anywhere. I still need to eat. If I’ve planted my vegetable garden, then I’ve got veggies for my family! Yay food! But if I didn’t, woe is me. LOL Okay but now I’ve got a new problem. I might have all the veggies I need, but I have no wheat to make bread. Small yard, no room for wheat. Uh oh.

Well the Lord made provision for this too! I may not have wheat growing in my back yard, but I’ve got neighbors! I’ve got the gift of community! If one of my dear neighbors has used their skills to plant wheat, I can trade some of my veggie abundance with them for wheat. Yay bartering!

Yes I realize that this is how towns, cities and economies have been built throughout the ages. But that’s not the point here. The point is that I don’t HAVE to worry about the Lord’s provision. I will be cared for….all I have to do is use what He’s already given to reap the harvest. And I know that if I were sick or infirmed, that He would still continue to provide for me using the gift of family and community.

And the big grand point of all this……

Just when I think I really do know just how awesome He is, I see a whole new example of why He’s so worthy to be praised. I worship Him because of Who He is, what He’s done and what He continues to do every single day. He has provided for us in abundance. Now it’s time for me to get out there and reap the harvest.

 

Leave a Reply

